Senior Focus: Hannah Johnston

I believe we all suffer from the same insecurities and uncertainties, and it is only our different means of coping that makes us individual. This compulsion to find the home inside us and to act in accordance with this honesty is the driving force behind my work. I reference my own personal narrative to address this greater universal theme. Recently, instead of relating a single, fluid narrative I have focused on capturing those individual moments and interactions that define one’s character.

I have come to realize that my past as a maker and my experiences with art and crafts has greatly influenced my studio practice. I grew up in an environment in which I was constantly working with my grandmothers on craft based projects. Artwork created by my family covers the walls of their homes. Because of this, the scale and hand of my work references that same homemade quality I was surrounded with while growing up. I believe that the love and care that births an object passes onto the viewer, whether it is in the home or in a gallery. I hold no higher objective than honoring this tender and honest quality in my work.

Here is some of my current in-process work. I am working on a series of small stitchings; these are currently taped up on my studio window until I figure out the best means of presenting them. Each of the squares are 2.75” x 2.75”.

Image

Image

Image 

Image

Leave a Reply

